Of Fire and Stars

Of Fire and Stars

Book - 2016
Average Rating:
Rate this:
5
1
1
 …
A girl betrothed since childhood to a handsome prince to seal an alliance between their kingdoms hides her magical affinity for wielding fire powers while falling unexpectedly in love with her intended's sister.
Publisher: New York, NY : Balzer + Bray, an imprint of HarperCollinsPublishers, [2016]
Edition: First edition
ISBN: 9780062433251
Branch Call Number: YA FICTION Coulthur
Characteristics: 389 pages ; 22 cm

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment
a
allieereads
Sep 27, 2019

<b>4.5 stars</b>

So SO FREAKIN CUTE. And it’s OWN VOICES!!!!

Can I just say, for a debut novel, this was practically flawless? The writing, the character development, the world-building - I just really loved it. Though I personally had a few issues with the pacing in the beginning (though the slowness of the buildup did make the relationship between the two characters so much more plausible) and I did roll my eyes in some scenes because COMMUNICATION PEOPLE, but overall, I just really freaking enjoyed everything about this book.

The magic system is very interesting and I hope in the next book (WHICH I HAVE REQUESTED TO PURCHASE) will focus slightly more on how the magic system works, its history, etc. Also, I can’t wait to see more of the relationship between Deanna and Mare because when they finally got together I SQUEALED SO LOUDLY.

Really great book and I do recommend it if you enjoy YA fantasy. You definitely will not regret it.

p
PinesandPrejudice
Jun 07, 2017

This was an interesting read -- I enjoyed the slow burn of the romance, I liked the world, I liked the fact that same sex love wasn't an issue in this world, I liked the characters and the story was surprising enough to keep me engaged.

My two largest issues with this book were 1) the names which seemed unnecessarily long and complicated and fantasy-esque and 2) the multiple POV sounded too similar and I often had trouble telling them apart which was confusing. There wasn't enough distinction between their voices.

Overall, this was an enjoyable read and I am sad it's not a series. It's a world I would like to continue learning about. Maybe Audrey will change her mind. Please?

a
a_duea
Jan 18, 2017

I struggled with the chapters switching back and forth between two character viewpoints. It kept the story from being fluid and I always felt like I was having to catch up in the storyline. The story itself was okay.

s
shayshortt
Dec 15, 2016

Of Fire and Stars is a slow-burn forbidden romance laced with magic, highly recommended for fans of Malinda Lo’s Ash.
Full review: https://shayshortt.com/2016/12/15/of-fire-and-stars/

An excellent book for fans of Ella Enchanted or Tamora Pierce's Tortall books, where girls discover their own strength and what it means to be true to themselves, often finding love in the process!

Age

Add Age Suitability
a
allieereads
Sep 27, 2019

allieereads thinks this title is suitable for 15 years and over

Summary

Add a Summary
s
shayshortt
Dec 15, 2016

Princess Dennaleia of Havemont has been promised to Prince Thandilimon of Mynaria since childhood. The marriage will seal an alliance that will help the two countries defend against their mysterious and powerful Eastern neighbour, Zumourda. Denna has an Affinity for fire, one of the elements tied to worship of the Six. But magic is strictly forbidden in Mynaria, so she must hide her ability when, at sixteen, she is sent south to finally make her marriage vows. In Mynaria, Denna meets Princess Amaranthine, better known as Mare, who is the elder sister of her betrothed. Mare is charged with teaching Denna to ride a horse before the wedding, but soon sparks are flying between the two girls. When the assassination of a member of the royal family threatens to destabilize Mynaria, Denna and Mare must work together to solve the mystery before Mynaria is plunged into war.

Quotes

Add a Quote
s
shayshortt
Dec 15, 2016

Princesses don’t play with fire.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at SJPL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top