Oona Out of Order

Oona Out of Order

eBook - 2020
Average Rating:
Rate this:
6
"Time Traveler's Wife meets Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind in a wondrous novel exploring the burdens of time, the endurance of love, and the timelessness of family. Just because life might be out of order, doesn't mean it's broken. It's new years eve 1982, and Oona Lockhart has her whole life before her. At the stroke of midnight she will turn nineteen, and the year ahead promises to be one of consequence. Should she go to London to study economics, or follow her heart and remain at home in Brooklyn to be with her boyfriend? As the countdown to the new year begins, Oona feels lightheaded, woozy, and it's not from the champagne. At the stroke of midnight Oona is torn from her life and everyone she loves, finding herself in her 51 year old body thirty-three years into the future. Greeted by a friendly stranger in a beautiful house she's told is her own, Oona learns that will with each passing year she will leap to another age at random. Still a young woman on the inside, but ever changing on the outside, who will she be next year? Philanthropist? Club kid? World traveler? Wife to a man she's never met? Hopping through decades, and a lifetime Oona Out of Order is a surprising, magical novel that explores the power of love, the bonds of family, and the wonders of life"-- Provided by publisher.
Publisher: New York : Flatiron Books, [2020]
Edition: First edition
ISBN: 9781250236593
1250236592
9781250236609
1250236606
Characteristics: 1 online resource (338 pages)

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment
m
midori_hon
Mar 12, 2020

i had my misgivings, but this was rather a magical mystery tour. don't read the spoilers and let yourself discover oona's life progression as she does.

k
Katie_Dublin
Mar 03, 2020

Phenomenal! This novel is simply beautiful, but there is nothing simple about it. It's a complicated tale, but you've already read the synopsis and don't need me to explain that. A refreshingly unique premise, perfectly executed. Absolutely cannot wait for more from this author. Heartwarming and heartbreaking, I was sobbing tears of joy and sorrow by the end. My only complaint is that it's over! I would have happily read about every single year of Oona's life. My 2020 favorite so far. READ THIS BOOK!!!

DCLadults Feb 18, 2020

A New & Noteworthy pick. Time travel in a whole new way. Every New Year’s Day Oona wakes up at a different age, and not in order. Fun and unique and a great for book clubs.

j
JanetPDX
Feb 08, 2020

A contender for my favorite book of the year. Oona Out of Order explores life and the lessons we learn along the way from a fresh, new angle. Imagine being 18 one moment and suddenly in your 50s the next, with no memory of everything in between. Then after a year of adjustment and some catching up, you are transported to a 27 year old you, with still only the life experience and emotional maturity of a 19 year old. And this happens again, and again, and again. How do you cope with abrupt changes in technology, culture, and your body??? How do you maintain relationships, or find the courage to start them? Life's bad stuff and the fabulous stuff still happens. How much would future, but younger or older you (this is confusing until you read it) warn yourself about if you could? But what amazing experiences would you spoil for yourself in the process? Would it be worth it? This book gave my brain lots to work through and has me reflecting on my own life and choices in new ways.

I'm happy to give Oona Out of Order 5 stars. Margarita Montimore handled this complex undertaking brilliantly. 👏 And that twist!!!! I never saw it coming. I LOVE an unexpected twist. My only complaint is I wish there was more. I became so emotionally invested in these characters, I needed to experience a few more leaps. There is certainly more to Oona's story.

debwalker Jan 28, 2020

When you're 19 years old, pass out at a New Year's party and wake up in your 51 year old body.....

d
darladoodles
Dec 31, 2019

Ooooh, Oona! This may be one of the most popular books of 2020. It has been quite a ride and I am so happy I had the privilege of finishing on the very day when Oona anticipates her next leap. This time-jumping debut novel turned my brain into a pretzel. I can't wait for my bookish friends to catch up so we can discuss the book. An overarching theme of time travel gives Oona the bittersweet knowledge of a past she has skipped and a future she is not yet ready for. As we leap with Oona we have a front row seat to an emotional rollercoaster that begins with denial when her 19-year-old self discovers out she is already 51. Talk about whiplash! Montimore does an excellent job keeping the reader anchored in Oona's timeline by giving us the "inside age"/"outside age" with each new leap. Will definitely appeal to fans of Audrey Niffenegger, Taylor Jenkins Reid, and Liane Moriarty. Highly recommended!

A big thank you to James Melia at Flat Iron Books for sending me a VERY early copy for my review.

Age

Add Age Suitability

There are no ages for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at SJPL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top